SurvivingInfidelity.com Forum Archives

Return to Forum List

Facebook Friend or Foe?

You are not logged in. Login here or register.

Lola2kids posted 3/21/2014 11:04 AM

I found out a lot of information from X's Facebook page.
I got a big payment out of him for extra curriculars after I saw a post that he had been in NYC for the weekend after telling me he was short on cash.
I was debating whether or not to block him and found it strange that he apparently had not posted anything since Oct. of last year (this was shortly after the NYC post.)
I found out that you can block selected certain friends from seeing all of your posts.
I was trying to figure out how he did it and clicked block for him instead.
It told me that they automatically un-friended him.

Do you get a notice when someone un-friends you?

I'm not upset.
I wasn't getting any more information from that avenue any more.

And frankly, I don't want it to look like he cheated on me, got engaged to the cow and still remains "friends" with me.
No way.

[This message edited by Lola2kids at 11:05 AM, March 21st (Friday)]

Amazonia posted 3/21/2014 11:28 AM

No, there is no notification that you unfriended him. He will find out when he tries to visit your page and can't open it. You won't come up in each others' search results anymore, and if you have mutual friends, you won't see each others' comments on their stuff, etc. - assuming you let him blocked, that is.

MovingUpward posted 3/21/2014 11:35 AM

If you are looking for how to select which friends can see a post on your wall then right to the left of the post button (Talking the web version and not the mobile app. Those with updated mobile aps should see a "To:" at the top when composing a status.) where you can select who can see that status from the whole world down to just you.

ButterflyGirl posted 3/21/2014 11:53 AM

I agree with the above, but I found something kinda interesting..

Not sure on this, but say my friend has 10 Facebook friends, one of which being my ex. Even though I blocked my ex, Facebook would still show me that person had 10 friends, but I could only see 9 profile pics on their "friend list" since it wouldn't show me my ex's pic..

Pass posted 3/21/2014 20:00 PM

The best part is that when you block someone, facebook says something like, "We're very sorry this happened to you."

That's the only apology I'll get out of this whole experience, so I savoured it. Well, my brother also apologized for introducing us - as he should!

Lola2kids posted 3/24/2014 20:31 PM

Yes, I got the "I'm sorry" notice. I remember you posting about that, Pass.
I'm glad he doesn't get a notice that I un friended him. I doubt he will ever notice.

Return to Forum List

© 2002-2018 SurvivingInfidelity.com ®. All Rights Reserved.