SurvivingInfidelity.com Forums
Off Topic
User Topic: Help me decide...
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 3:29 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)

I am a Blackberry user... I am a Verizon customer.

My current Blackberry is a P.O.S and my current Verizon coverage is less then adequate at work (home and elsewhere is fine).

I want to get the new Blackberry Q10 that's about to come out... but I'm also thinking of going to AT&T service (better coverage at work)

I don't know if I want to leave Verizon because I have three phones on the plan and a good deal and I think the 4G coverage at my school is probably better... Also, they are launching the Blackberry Q10 in a few days.

But everyone at school has AT&T and has good coverage.

Should I wait to see if AT&T gets the Q10? Or switch and see if 4G with Verizon is better...

Oy... I know there are other more major problems in the world, but I live and die by my phone and I need good service and good equipment.

What do I do?


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
jo2love
Moderator
Member # 31528
Default  Posted: 9:53 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)

Bumping in hopes that those who know about these phones, will read and give advice.

Posts: 35393 | Registered: Mar 2011
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 9:59 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)

Thanks Jo


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
jo2love
Moderator
Member # 31528
Default  Posted: 10:27 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)



Posts: 35393 | Registered: Mar 2011
Dreamboat
Member
Member # 10506
Default  Posted: 10:33 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)

I have a bad experience in general with ATT with their customer service, not just cell phones but land lines, long distance, and DSL. Also, I could not use my cell phon at my house unless I sat in the bathtub of my master bath. I switched to Verizon because when on a trip in the boonies of MN, all of my cousins who had Verizon had service, while I had to drive 20 miles into town to get service for ATT. I have never had an issue with cell service with Verizon and so far my customer service experience had not been negative.

I do not have a smart phone so my only concern with coverage is if I can make a call. So I cannot comment on how their data service is, $G vs 3G ect.

I personally would not go back to ATT unless they have proven to me that they are the better vendor all around FOR ME. That would include phones, customer service, and coverage.

JMHO


And it's hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off
-- Shake It Out, Florence And The Machine

Posts: 17638 | Registered: Apr 2006 | From: A better place :)
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 10:52 PM, June 4th (Tuesday)

At home and everywhere else my cell coverage is a-ok... it's only at work that I have an issue.

Everyone at work who has AT&T has no issues. One girl can text in the windowless bathroom at the back of the school while pumping breastmilk.


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Sad in AZ
Member
Member # 24239
Default  Posted: 12:05 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

Are you grandfathered in to Verizon's unlimited data plan? (Verizon no longer offers unlimited data, but if you had it before they stopped, they had to grandfather you into the plan.) If so, the only other carrier that offers unlimited data (to my knowledge) is Sprint--and their coverage sucks.


I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.

Posts: 20223 | Registered: Jun 2009 | From: Upstate NY
Unagie
Member
Member # 37091
Default  Posted: 3:30 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

Here's the thing. When you upgrade to a new phone even if you were grandfathered into unlimited data they force you into a paid plan. I had unlimited data and when I got my galaxy they said that the unlimited plan was not allowed to be on new phones, but it was fine if I kept my old phone. The plan I have now is like $10 more then before and I've never gone over data and I use my phone all the time so it's not a huge deal.

As for coverage I don't like AT&T. They always gave crap coverage for me. I love Verizon though and have been a customer for 7 years. Verizon launches the Q10 on Thursday. Will you get good coverage at your home and school with AT&T? Oh and AT&T will start taking orders for the Q10 tomorrow. Neither company knows when they will be available in stores.

That's all I know .


Heartbroken madhatter trying to rebuild

No longer together

"To be loyal to myself is to allow myself to grow and change, and challenge who I am and what I think."


Posts: 2755 | Registered: Oct 2012
Sad in AZ
Member
Member # 24239
Default  Posted: 7:16 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

That's not true with Verizon, Unagie. My son has been a Verizon customer for years and constantly upgrades his phone (as in he doesn't wait for the free upgrade--he's paid full price to get the newest technology.) I guess it depends on the company.


I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.

Posts: 20223 | Registered: Jun 2009 | From: Upstate NY
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 7:43 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

All I know is I pay $30 a month for my data plan... does that make it "unlimited"?


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Tred
Member
Member # 34086
Default  Posted: 7:45 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

We both are grandfathered into unlimited data on AT&T - our kids are not, on the same plan. So it depends on the carrier it appears.

JRC - I think that there isn't a ton of difference in most of the smart phones these days. I'm not a BB user (I like the Android OS) but you should be able to contact the service provider and find out. Does anyone at work have Verizon 4G coverage? I believe that a lot of service providers have a 30 day opt of new plans as well. You may be able to try before you buy.


Married: 17 years (14 @JFO)
D-Day: 11/09/11
"Ohhhhh...shut up Tred!" - NOT the official SI motto (DS)

Posts: 3960 | Registered: Dec 2011
unbreak_my_heart
Member
Member # 12145
Default  Posted: 8:37 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

I use T-Moble and have for over 7 years. I have no problem with them. I don't know if they will be getting the new BB yet.


HAPPILY RECONCILED!

I ♥ my Husband!!!


Posts: 2285 | Registered: Sep 2006 | From: Our happy place
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 9:05 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

Here's the thing. When you upgrade to a new phone even if you were grandfathered into unlimited data they force you into a paid plan. I had unlimited data and when I got my galaxy they said that the unlimited plan was not allowed to be on new phones, but it was fine if I kept my old phone. The plan I have now is like $10 more then before and I've never gone over data and I use my phone all the time so it's not a huge deal.

That's not true with Verizon, Unagie. My son has been a Verizon customer for years and constantly upgrades his phone (as in he doesn't wait for the free upgrade--he's paid full price to get the newest technology.)

My understanding with Verizon is that if you pay full price for the phone, you keep your grandfathered plan; if you get the discounted phone that comes with signing a new 2 year agreement, that's when you lose your old plan. So by paying full price for his phones, your son keeps his plan, Sad.


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13756 | Registered: Jul 2011
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 9:07 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

PS - I use Virgin Mobile and pay 35$ a month for unlimited data and texting, but only 300 talk minutes, which I don't care because I hate talking on the phone, and just use skype if I have to have longer calls.

VM is on Sprint's network, which works just fine here in downtown DC (and in the city where my parents live), although I don't spend a lot of time there), but I've heard isn't great elsewhere.

[This message edited by Amazonia at 9:09 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)]


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13756 | Registered: Jul 2011
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 9:09 AM, June 5th (Wednesday)

All I know is I pay $30 a month for my data plan... does that make it "unlimited"?

How long have you had this plan, Treasures? They stopped the unlimited about 2 years ago, IIRC.

Do you have an online account? If so, you should be able to log in and see the details of your current plan, and probably your data usage so you would know how much data you need to maintain that level (although, increase it, because you'll be increasing the hours of the day you can use it if you switch to ATT)


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13756 | Registered: Jul 2011
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 1:35 PM, June 5th (Wednesday)

I got my first Blackberry w/ data plan in February 2011.


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 4:12 PM, June 5th (Wednesday)

which is right around when they stopped offering it, from what I'm seeing on the google.

I'd check your bill or your online account to see what your data plan is called/labeled. If it's the unlimited, it might be worth keeping, since that's pretty rare and data is just getting more expensive right now.


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13756 | Registered: Jul 2011
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 6:07 PM, June 5th (Wednesday)

It says "Unlimited Data" $29.99/mo. on my plan.


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24546 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 6:20 AM, June 6th (Thursday)

Many would argue that you want to keep that. It's hard to get unlimited data these days. If you upgrade and don't pay the full purchase price of your phone (ie if you sign a new contract rather than continue month to month) you will have to pick a new data plan, which will probably cost you more money. (How much more depends on how much data you use.)

[This message edited by Amazonia at 8:36 AM, June 6th (Thursday)]


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13756 | Registered: Jul 2011
Unagie
Member
Member # 37091
Default  Posted: 6:55 AM, June 6th (Thursday)

Bingo Ama. I could not afford a full priced Galaxy so I used the upgrade option which they then said you must change your plan. Sucks but its not a huge difference.


Heartbroken madhatter trying to rebuild

No longer together

"To be loyal to myself is to allow myself to grow and change, and challenge who I am and what I think."


Posts: 2755 | Registered: Oct 2012
Topic Posts: 20