SurvivingInfidelity.com Forums
Off Topic
User Topic: Hdmi splitters
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 8:33 AM, August 1st (Thursday)

Does anyone one have one?

I need to send a signal from my livingroom's DVR/Converter box to my bedroom TV... I can do this now by manually putting the HDMI cable thru the wall into the bedroom... but I don't want to do this all the time.

Can you split a HDMI HD signal and send it two directions?


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24595 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 11:29 AM, August 1st (Thursday)


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24595 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Tred
Member
Member # 34086
Default  Posted: 11:34 AM, August 1st (Thursday)

I haven't done it but there are quite a few HDMI 1 into 2 splitters out there. Best Buy, Walmart. I'd just make sure you get a quality splitter with good cables.


Married: 17 years (14 @JFO)
D-Day: 11/09/11
"Ohhhhh...shut up Tred!" - NOT the official SI motto (DS)

Posts: 4002 | Registered: Dec 2011
thinkingclear
Member
Member # 38884
Default  Posted: 3:19 PM, August 2nd (Friday)

Tred is right. This would work.

http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/detail.jsp?skuId=1224493&pid=1218238810316


BS - Me
WW - Her
10 month EA/PA

Posts: 211 | Registered: Apr 2013
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 5:56 PM, August 2nd (Friday)

Thank You guys.


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24595 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
NotDefeatedYet
Member
Member # 33642
Default  Posted: 7:13 PM, August 2nd (Friday)

You can get one off meritline for about $20. I have one that runs one hdmi into 3 lines out. It has a remote control to select the output cable, but when I turn on a device it automatically picks up and uses that device.


"It's a fool that looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart."

Posts: 769 | Registered: Oct 2011 | From: Texas
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 12:42 PM, August 3rd (Saturday)

Would it be better to do Whole House DVR instead of splitting?


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24595 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
thinkingclear
Member
Member # 38884
Default  Posted: 12:45 PM, August 3rd (Saturday)

What exactly are you trying to do?

What kind of tv's and how many?
(do they all have HDMI inputs?)

What TV service do you have? Cable or Sat?


BS - Me
WW - Her
10 month EA/PA

Posts: 211 | Registered: Apr 2013
jrc1963
Member
Member # 26531
Default  Posted: 5:08 PM, August 3rd (Saturday)

I have two TV's that both have 2 HDMI inputs... one in the living room and one in the bedroom. Both are hooked up to cable converter boxes at this time...

I have a DVR box in the living room and a regular converter box in the bedroom.

In order to watch things on DVR in bedroom I have to manually string the HDMI cable thru a whole in the wall and plug it into my bedroom TV.

Then I hit playback and go into the bedroom and watch...

If I had a splitter I could keep the box hooked up permanently and not have to move the cable each time.

I have cable.


Me: BSO - 46
Him: FWSO - 69
DS - 13
D-Day - 12-11-09,
R - he finally came home
Your life is an Occasion. Rise to it. - Mr. Magorium, "Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium"

Posts: 24595 | Registered: Dec 2009 | From: Florida
Topic Posts: 9