SurvivingInfidelity.com Forums
Off Topic
User Topic: Ipad not opening my apps. Help?
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 2:11 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

Ipad worked just fine last night.
Now I press on an app icon...and it doesn't open. Just stays on the home page.

What do I do to get my apps to open? (not being able to get into my ibooks or bejeweled is making me stabby....)


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
MovingUpward
Guide
Member # 14866
Default  Posted: 2:48 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

when you double press the home key and the active apps appear. Can you open one of those? Can you hold down on one of the active apps icon so that they are wiggling? If so you can try closing out the active apps and seeing what happens with trying to click on the normal apps.

If not then a hard reboot might be needed.


AKA Moo

Think of the haters in your life as sandpaper; they’ll scratch you up time and time again but in the end you’re polished, smooth, and spotless..while they end up useless

There are shortcuts to happiness, and dancing is one of them-Vicky Baum


Posts: 49740 | Registered: Jun 2007 | From: Big Blue Nation
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 3:15 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

Can you open one of those?

No.

Can you hold down on one of the active apps icon so that they are wiggling?

Yes.

If so you can try closing out the active apps and seeing what happens with trying to click on the normal apps.

Closed all of the active apps. Normal apps still don't open.

And hard reboot. If that is what it is when I hold the little circle button on the front and press the top on/off switch until the "Power Off" message comes up.....yea. I tried that too.
Problem remains. I push the app icon, screen goes black for a sec as if it's 'going' to open, then just goes back to the homepage......ugh.


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
MovingUpward
Guide
Member # 14866
Default  Posted: 3:19 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

You have the buttons right but you should hold them down together for 10 secs until the apple logo appears and the unit shuts off.


AKA Moo

Think of the haters in your life as sandpaper; they’ll scratch you up time and time again but in the end you’re polished, smooth, and spotless..while they end up useless

There are shortcuts to happiness, and dancing is one of them-Vicky Baum


Posts: 49740 | Registered: Jun 2007 | From: Big Blue Nation
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 3:35 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

So I'm supposed to ignore the 'slide to power off' message and just continue to hold down the buttons?


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
hurtbs
Member
Member # 10866
Default  Posted: 4:24 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

I would also try deleting and reinstalling the application.


Me BW Him XSAWH
DDays - 1 was too many
Divorced 2012

"In life, unlike chess, the game continues after checkmate." - Asimov
"Be patient and tough; someday this pain will be useful to you." - Ovid


Posts: 15125 | Registered: Jun 2006
purplejacket4
Member
Member # 34262
Default  Posted: 5:50 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

Sometimes it helps to go to settings and reset the iPad.


Me: BS 44
Her: fWS 47 (same sex partner)
Together: 17 now (both MDs)
OW: meh so what 40s PhD
DD1: 10/30/11EA; DD2: 11/10/11 Had ONS; TT until 12/26/11; broke NC 6/12; NC again 7/12; R-ish

Posts: 1847 | Registered: Dec 2011 | From: Great Southwest
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 8:03 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

But if I reset it, won't it *wipe* all of the apps that I've put on there?

(I really hate it when my electronics mess up......I'm such a techno-idiot)


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
Mama_of_3_Kids
Member
Member # 26651
Default  Posted: 8:17 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

I have a 1st Gen and something similar happen and I synced it to my computer. It somehow fixed the problem...not sure if it would help, but maybe try it


Me: FBW/30 Him: FWH/33 The kidlets: DS13, DS10, and DD8 The hounds: Four Shih Tzu's
Finally, completely R'd
Clothed in strength and dignity, with nothing to fear, she smiles when she thinks about the future.~Proverbs 31:25

Posts: 11463 | Registered: Dec 2009
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 9:35 PM, August 13th (Tuesday)

New question -- when I go to sync it, it says that there are purchased apps that haven't been transferred. I have no idea what that means or what to do. Implication is that I *should* transfer something somewhere? How the heck do I do that? (and fyi....it's an ipad2)


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
osxgirl
Member
Member # 8795
Default  Posted: 5:30 PM, August 15th (Thursday)

I know this was from a few days ago, but since you didn't get answers to your last questions....

When you get the message that purchased apps haven't transferred (or music, or anything else like that), it means that you "purchased" (it's considered a purchase, even if it was free) apps (music, etc.) on the iPad, and iTunes on your computer does not have a copy of the app.

Whether or not you transfer them is up to you. Transferring them means you use up more space on your computer - you can't run the apps on your computer, so they are only stored there as a way to help restore your iPad. But, if you do back them up, it makes it a bit easier for you to restore your iPad if for some reason you need to wipe it or it has issues.

If you want to transfer them, just say "yes" to transferring them when the computer asks if you want to. And "no" if you don't want to.

The apps don't take up a whole lot of room, so transferring isn't a bad idea - but it can take a while if you have purchased a lot on the iPad that are not on your computer.

----

I'm hoping you have resolved your problem by now, but if you haven't...

When you sync your iPad, make sure you do a backup as well. If you look at the summary screen in iTunes while your iPad is connected, you should see the option to back up. I recommend connecting with a cable - it will go a lot faster than doing it wirelessly. If you have any problems finding how to do a backup, check this article from Apple to help you:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1766

As long as the iPad is backed up, you should be able to reset it and restore it. I wouldn't do that without trying everything else first, but as long as you've done a backup, it shouldn't be a big deal.

The hard reboot should take care of most issues though. And yes, to do a hard reboot, hold down both buttons (on the top and on the front) at the same time, ignore the slider to turn off, and keep holding until it actually shuts off. If it doesn't restart on its own after that, hold down the button on top a few seconds until the Apple logo appears. That will restart it.

If you have any more questions, just ask. I don't check frequently, so you might want to PM me just to make sure I notice you have another question.

[This message edited by osxgirl at 5:32 PM, August 15th (Thursday)]


Posts: 2192 | Registered: Nov 2005 | From: Maryland
FaithFool
Member
Member # 20150
Default  Posted: 6:24 PM, August 15th (Thursday)

I've had that happen. I delete and reinstall. It's usually an update issue...


DDay: June 15, 2008
Mistakenly married Mr. Superfreak
20 years of OWs, WTF?
Divorced Dec 26, 2011
Celebrating 60 years on Earth

Posts: 16607 | Registered: Jul 2008 | From: Canada
gonnabe2016
Member
Member # 34823
Default  Posted: 6:38 PM, August 15th (Thursday)

Update:
Well, I *fixed* it. It's working, all my apps/books are still there....right where I left them.

I have no freaking clue how, though.
The hard boot thingy didn't work. So I sat and warily eyed the USB ports and connector cord for about 8 hours.
Finally figured that I didn't have much to lose since I couldn't use the damn thing anyway.....so I connected it.

I must have somehow chosen to transfer my previously 'untransferred' things since they're all still there.
No idea whether whatever 'download & update' came up in the pop-up occurred......

It synced (at least I know what THAT means, kinda sorta ).
Finished. And voila!!!
Everything opens. Yay. Life is good again.

Thanks for the help everyone.......gotta say that I like it better when my oldest kid is around, though. I hand my stuff to him, tell him that it's broken and to please fix it....3 minutes later he hands it back -- working just fine. Dang over-achiever -- thinks he's gotta go to college or something!


"Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive." - Sir Walter Scott

In my effort to be *concise*, I often come off as blunt and harsh. Sorry, don't mean to be offensive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCyL6pa_L4M


Posts: 7223 | Registered: Feb 2012 | From: Midwest
Topic Posts: 13