SurvivingInfidelity.com Forums
Off Topic
User Topic: Question for the Techies - App Permissions
simplydevastated
Member
Member # 25001
Default  Posted: 8:44 AM, August 30th (Friday)

Before I download apps to my phone I always read the permissions. One puzzles me - Storage: Modify or delete the contents of your USB storage.

Why would an app do this and has an app deleted information before? That seems strange to me.

Also I've seen others where it says that it can read texts etc...


Me - BS, 39 (I'm not old...I'm vintage)
Two Wonderful children - DS10, DD7
Married, for now... (4+ D-Day - listed in profile.)

Posts: 5854 | Registered: Jul 2009 | From: In the darkest depths of hell!
Amazonia
Member
Member # 32810
Default  Posted: 9:48 AM, August 30th (Friday)

It means data for the app itself can be saved and deleted to your phone storage.

When apps update, they usually remove some of the old version before adding the new version (if they didn't it would eat up your whole memory really quickly), at least that's my understanding.


"You yourself deserve your love and affection as much as anybody in the universe." -Buddha
"Let's face it, life is a crap shoot." -Sad in AZ

Posts: 13690 | Registered: Jul 2011
simplydevastated
Member
Member # 25001
Default  Posted: 9:56 AM, August 30th (Friday)

That makes sense, thank you


Me - BS, 39 (I'm not old...I'm vintage)
Two Wonderful children - DS10, DD7
Married, for now... (4+ D-Day - listed in profile.)

Posts: 5854 | Registered: Jul 2009 | From: In the darkest depths of hell!
Topic Posts: 3