Cookies are required for login or registration. Please read and agree to our cookie policy to continue.

Newest Member: GettingThere08

Reconciliation :
When other issue intrude

This Topic is Archived

Nanatwo (original poster member #45274) posted at 8:47 PM on Saturday, May 22nd, 2021

Has anyone else found that when non-infidelity issue arise - the way your wayward acts helps or hinders R?

My H has never been very good at emotional support - when I was diagnosed with cancer before his A and went hru 7 weeks of radiation he never once asked me how I was doing or offered to go to an appointment with me.

Since Dday he has been there for me emotionally - is more comfortable expressing his emotions and supporting mine.

Saying this last year has been hard - as you all know - is an understatement. I work in the medical field - so never had to worry about losing my job - which was a blessing - but also extremely stressful working during a pandemic when no one knew from day to day what was going to happen.

I have recently decided to retire - which is definitely a good thing - but brings on its on stresses - financial decisions - income considerations - health insurance.

We recently learned my sister - who is truly my best friend - may have non-Hodgkins lymphoma - she is currently at MD Anderson for tests. Before - my H would have just brushed off my concerns - not even asking about her unless I bought it up.

Yesterday was her first round of test - the first thing he asked when he got home from work was if I had talked to her and how did everything go. He then said he wished he could tell me everything was going to be ok - but of course he couldn't promise that - but he is here when I need to talk - a shoulder to cry on - or just a hug.

His support emotionally through all of this he made our R so much stronger - had he reverted to his old ways I think it would have been a huge step backwards.

Time heals what reason cannot. Seneca